Embodiment of western neo-marxist ideology

Usually I don’t give any airtime to alcoholic warmongers (especially when they are promoting their ‘intellectual’ garbage), but this expose in the guardian has some gems, too good to ignore, reflecting the true nature of everything that’s wrong with the west, their distorted view of reality and complete moral bankruptcy.

Here are the gems (my emphasis in red) :

‘…Hitchens argues, is that “Islamofascism” is hellbent on destroying our civilisation, and unless you fancy being bombed back into pre-Enlightenment times, you should bloody well be out there on the barricades, fighting the good fight beside him. Anyone who disagrees is either stupid, cowardly, naive or too lazy to have bothered updating their political faculties “since Woodstock”…’

‘…With hindsight, there was an early clue to his appetite for combat in the ferocity of Hitchens’ support for the Falklands Royal Naval task force, shared by few on the left. “I couldn’t possibly see the UK defeated by those insanitary riffraff!” he exclaims. “This was a diabolical liberty.”But Islamic fundamentalism presented a more promisingly meaty foe than a tinpot Argentine dictator, and ever since the 1989 fatwa against Salman Rushdie, Hitchens says, “I knew there would be some huge intrusion into the heart of civilisation from barbarism.

‘…And so chief among Hitchens’ emotions by the end of the day on 11 September was “exhilaration. Because I thought, now we have a very clearly drawn confrontation between everything I hate and everything I love. There is something exhilarating about that. Because, OK, now I know what I’m doing.” Just as his father had felt during the second world war? “Yes, exactly,” he agrees.’

“Do I ask myself,” he replies, “do I think our civilization is superior to theirs? Yes, I do. Do I think it’s worth fighting for? Most certainly.”

“Guantánamo slightly threatened at one point to change my attitude towards capital punishment. I thought it would have been good if some of those people could have been taken out and shot. Yeah, put up against a wall. Lincoln would have done it. Of course, I would have been against it if they had. But that’s how I felt.

‘…Where’s the point in engaging in a battle of ideas if you have no interest in being persuasive? “That seems like an invitation to soften the tone and be more agreeable.” Doesn’t he want to win the battle? “Sure.” Why, then, did he tell an interviewer in 2001: “I don’t really care whether people agree with me”? He looks momentarily surprised. “Oh, that’s too bald. What I mean is that I’m not going to soften a case in order to make it more presentable. When I’ve flung down the pen, I want to be sure that I’ve made the strongest possible case I can make – and also,” he adds tellingly, “really had fun doing it.

“Well, I’ve done better than I thought I would. I’ve made more money than I ever thought I would. I’ve got more readers than I ever thought I would, and more esteem.” He now earns “several hundred thousand dollars a year” – but claims his wealth hasn’t influenced his opinions at all.’

‘Does he think wealth ever affects people’s opinions?Well, yes, I’m a Marxist, after all.” So why would his own opinions be mysteriously immune to his bank balance? “Well, because I can’t trace any connection.” Doesn’t he find that unusual? He pauses to consider. “Well, no, because I think that comes in with inherited wealth.”

‘It seems to me so evidently the case that Hitchens is an alcoholic that to say much more feels unnecessary. But for the record, he trots out all the usual self-serving, defensive evasions: “For me, an alcoholic is someone who can’t hold his drink” or, “I’m not dependent, but I’d prefer not to be without it. The longest he has ever been was a dry weekend “in ****** Libya”, and he claims he drinks only to make other people less boring..”

And the islamophobe’s most despised historical figure?  Imam Khomeini (rA).

Leave a Reply

