Isra’ & Mi’raj – Ascension of the Holy Prophet (saw)

Allamah Majlisi in Bihar-al-Anwar, vol.77, pp. 21-30 mentions a long conversation which took place between Allah (swt) and our Prophet (SAW).  Among several questions our Prophet asked Allah (swt), two of the questions were:

1). “O Lord, which is the best action that your servant can perform in Your service?
Allah (swt) replied: “No act is better than trusting in Me and being content with whatever I have destined. O Muhammad, those who love others for My sake, receive My love. And those who show kindness for My sake and develop friendships for My sake are dear to Me. I have made it incumbent upon Me to love those who have trust in Me. And there are no bounds and limits to My Love.

2). “O Lord, guide me to an action that will draw me closer to You!
Allah (swt) replied: “Convert your days into nights and your nights into days.”  The Prophet (SAW) asked: “How?

Allah said: “Strive in a way that your sleep becomes an act of worship – and never stuff your stomach to its full! He added: “My love is linked with the love for the poor and the deprived – so get close to them and participate in their gatherings such that I get closer to you.  Keep the rich and the worshippers of the transient world away from you and stay away from their gatherings.

When the Holy Prophet returned to Makka from his journey, before he related his experiences, Imam Ali (A) began to give every detail of his journey.  The Holy Prophet said: “I and Ali are of one and the same light.

Leave a Reply

